Precision Ranking | Final Ranking is based 50% on Users' Ratings and 50% on our Lab Tests | Last Updated 23-Mar-2010
Other Web Hosting Companies
Infinology
Lunarpages
Startlogic
Ipowerweb
Powweb
Yahoo
Midphase
Netfirms
Interland
Jumpline
button About Upperhost

Upperhost is an independent business web hosting review web site. We rate hosting companies based on past user feedbacks, lab benchmark testing, and our usage with each website hosting company. If you would like to submit your company for review, please select the submit button located on top of this page.

Our Mission is to Test, Inform and Inform the potential web hosting consumers and businesses. We accept no advertisements or donations from any web hosting company.
web arrow Web Hosting Articles
Issues with cheap web hosting
Web Hosting Location
Business Online Hosting Ethics
Starting your own web business
Needs of a adult web host
Future of web hosting
Customer WEb Hosting Support
Web Hosting Influence
Workings of hosting server
E-Commerce web hosting of tomorrow
Support claims of web hosting companies
Purchasing business hosting on price
Web Development Tips
FeaturePrice Web Hosting Fiasco
Web Hosts Ethics
POP3 vs. IMAP E-mail Service
Switching Web Hosts
Maximizing the business value of domain
Personal Website Hosting
Sub-Domain & Regular Web Hosts
Enhancing Customers' experience
Domain Names & Brand Recognition
New Host for the New Years
How Servers Work
web arrow Web Hosting Companies Directory
Letter A-C Web Hosting Companies
Letter D- F Web Hosting Reviews
Letter G - H Web Hosts
Letter I-K Web Hosting Comparisons
Letter L-P Web Hosting Companies
Letter Q - T Web Hosting
Letter U - Z Web Hosting Companies
Letters A - H Web Hosting (2004)
Letter K - R Web Hosts (2004)
Letter S - Z Web Hosting (2004)
Website Hosting Reviews
Miscellaneous Customer Hosting Reviews
web arrow Web Hosting Essentials
  Listing of Common Web Hosting Terms
  Bandwidth offerings of Web Hosting Companies
  Commitment & Billing Issues
  Business hosting tips
  Evolving State of Hosting
  Managed Hosting Services
  Getting right domain for your business
  steps before signing up for hosting account
  virtual private servers and web hosting
  web site monitoring services
  Searching for a web hosting company
  UNIX vs. Windows web hosting
  Windows 2003 vs. Unix hosting
  Choosing the right web host
  Cheap web hosts are not all the same
  Getting to know the basics of web hosting
  When you need to get dedicated server
  Getting to really understand web hosting
  Web hosts, what to consider & to avoid
  Webpage designing tips & help
  PPC Engine effectiveness for your website
  Getting right domain for your business
  steps before signing up for hosting account
  virtual private servers and web hosting
  web site monitoring services
  Web Hosting Services
  The cost of using Free Web hosting
  Transferring website from one host to another
  Website Hosting Conversion Rate
  Web Hosts Spam in business
  Importance of Domain Name
  Web site hosting customer service
  Web hosting network
  Resellers for Web Hosts
  Internet Business opportunities
  Web Hosting Resellers or real web hosting
  Choosing Windows 2003 for Web Hosting
  Top web hosting
  Hosting for mature websites
 
 
 
 
Toughest Reviews on the internet since 1999
 
Final Score is based on speed, reliability and customer service.
 
100% Independent Review. No Advertisements Ever
 
 
         
 
 
 

http://www.ipowerweb.com


 
 
Performance 8
Reliability 7
Customer Relations   6
Features 7
Control Panel9

72%

 

 

FULL User Reviews and Ratings of iPowerWeb
 

Great Staff!   - Review by J. Suchman submitted on April 21, 2003
Overall Ratings: 10 out of 10
I called several different web hosting companies and this is the ONLY one that I could actually reach a pleasant, helpful individual. I have only been using for a month, but have not had any problems..only detraction is the fact that you have to pay $10 for Subdomains...But with PHP4, password protected directories, and my own CGI-bin my site development is going strong. Having fun on iPowerWeb.
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

iPowerWeb really sucks!,  - Review by Tom submitted on April 19, 2003
Overall Ratings: 1 out of 10
Since iPower migrated me from their old platform to their new one I have lost half of the functions of the FrontPage Server Extensions

I am a long time customer of iPower and have never experienced such poor service until now. The case went on for a month. For the first three weeks I received no emails from them and my case was closed as resolved repeatedly. I called 8 times averaging 28 min in the queue each time and told that they would escalate it. I asked repeatedly to have a technician call me, never happened. Finally was able to get a manager to call me and was assured that he would look into the issue but nothing changed.

Finally able to speak to another Technical Assistance Manager and was told that even though FrontPage and Expression web worked fine on the old platform, iPower no longer supports them on the new platform even though they offer them on their web site as part of the package and that they would discontinue offering them sometime in 2008. Also as a client I would not be compensated for the loss of a feature I paid for.

I have come away from this experience with a bitter taste in my mouth and I will no longer recommend iPower to my friends.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Can't FIND A BETTER PRICE   - Review by PCN submitted on April 19, 2003
Overall Ratings: 9 out of 10
I did hours of research before deciding to use iPowerWeb for my small business site. I've had nothing but good experiences with them. The e-mail feature alone would cost up to $30 a year at other sites. Most importantly, the online faq's and the live Customer Service has been exceptional. Highly recommended.
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Good service but not for business customers.   - Review by Rod Green submitted on April 19, 2003
Overall Ratings: 5 out of 10

I am from Barbados in the Caribbean, I never got full help frome the email support, to expensive to call from Barbados there so many spammers using these account that my mail got blocked becasue the mail server is used by spammers and a few other complaints a good service but not for my Business needs maybe they should look at these bad areas to provide better service
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

so far so good.   - Review by Clark Goodrich submitted on April 17, 2003
Overall Ratings: 10 out of 10
So far I am extremely happy with my final choice of www.ipowerweb.com . The 7x24 phone support is excelent. I called them at 4am estern time and support actually answered the phone. Now all I need to do is get 3 references and next years host costs will be free.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Ridiculious, 2 weeks DELAY!. - by gabriel moraru submitted on April 15, 2003
Overall Ratings: 1 out of 10

I have a small site with technical article about software, hardware and DivX, my own software (freeware for moment) and movies subtitles. After some work I managed to increase the number of visitors to 85 per day. Now my site is hosted on a free server ionichost.com (god! is terrible) and I want to move it on a better server but I can't aford an expensive host. First I tried to buy from iPowerWeb but they delay me for more than 2 weeks. Yes! more than 2 weeks. They wanted to send a fax copy of my credit card and my ID card. I sent that stupid fax and after A WHOLE WEEK they said "we can't locate your fax". I think is time to move to another company. Too bad 'cose their offers is very good. Another good looking hosting is: Lunarpages - $95.40/year 300 MB space, 20 GB transfer,unl. POP3 emails, FrontPage ext.,CGI, PHP, ASP, MySQL,control panel and EasyCGI - $95.52/year 100 MB space, 5 GB transfer,Perl, PHP, ASP.NET, 10 emails, SSL, MS Access.Additional plans available I found them on http://www.webhostingratings.com. I don't need too much technical asistance because I have very good knowledge adout computers, and I dont care about 1% server down time. I just need a reliable web hosting not so expensive (for first year).


 

Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

I DONT RECOMMED THIS TO ANYONE>   - Review by Brian Witowski submitted on April 15, 2003
Overall Ratings: 3 out of 10

The "Free" content and promotion tools are farmed out to 3rd parties and iPowerWeb offers NO support for them. Not even in their knowledgebase. In addition the promotion pack is a limited two-week trial.  These issues are not mentioned on their site.  Tech support appears to use auto-responders with form letters.  Often the response is out of context to the original question.

They will not answer my request for a username and password for domain administration, even though I own the domain (registrant).

I requested additional services 3 days ago and have not received a reply (additional domain).  They do have decent features: 200MB storage, plenty of email addresses, SQL support, FrontPage extensions, email auto-responders, forwarders, FTP access etc.
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Fairly good support, substandard server time.   - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 13, 2003
Overall Ratings: 4 out of 10

I hosted with these guys under the 30 day guarantee. During that time, the few times I accessed my site, which is going to be a retail e-commcerce site with a shopping cart, I experienced numerous occasions where I could not access the site or access was slow. For that reason, I have requested a refund. My gripe is with response time and up-time. I found the support to be adequate for an experienced user. Although, unless you are very well versed in CGI, don't even attempt to use the Agora shopping cart. It is very cumbersome to put together.
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

I will refer every one I can to you   - Review by Susan submitted on April 13, 2003
Overall Ratings: 10 out of 10
Wow guys. I am a new customer, and very pleased with what I have seen so far. I have a few other websites on different Web hosts and did not realize a company like iPowerWeb even existed. With terrible service around ever other corner, you guys are a breath of fresh air. EVERY Web host I have reviewed has the same selling points on their websites as you, but none have actually been true until now. Excellent service, Excellent KB system, Excellent Control Panel interface, Excellent add-on features, Excellent prices. I will refer every one I can to you.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Now I see why you're rated #1   - Review by Jeannine Holper submitted on April 9, 2003
Overall Ratings: 10 out of 10

Now I see why you are rated #1 provider by customers. Your tools are great. I'm a web rookie, and I was able to utilize your tools and upload our site in a matter of minutes. Your documentation is great and your response times are excellent, and your costs minimal. I was even able to set up my email account on outlook myself.

I'll definitely recommend your services to every one I meet who needs web hosting. Thanks a bunch.

 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Fast problem resolution   - Review by Brian submitted on April 8, 2003
Overall Ratings: 9 out of 10
I am very impressed with how fast you get back to me, I feel great knowing that I can e-mail you with a problem and know that I will receive a response within minutes.
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Site arbitrary suspended without warning   - Review by ClaudioB submitted on April 6, 2003
Overall Ratings: 2 out of 10

Service was arbitrary suspended on the ground that a script was spamming. a) The script did NOT use email in any way b) they did not even bother to check the email log to verify it. The site has been suspended for almost two months without them bothering to answer emails.
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

ONLY UNIX   - Review by Jorge Parra submitted on April 5, 2003
Overall Ratings: 7 out of 10
Comment:
Unix case sensitive page names are a bitch! 03/07/2003 -- 04/17/2003 still waiting refund !!!
Pros:
"Cheap business" does not mean "Serious business."
Cons:
Refund not received ... They said "Please allow seven business days for any appropriate refunds to take place."
 
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Horrible, Horrible - NEED I SAY MORE?!?!.   - Review by Caren S. submitted on April 5, 2003
Overall Ratings: 1 out of 10
I signed up for Ipowerweb recently. They were quick to charge my credit card but when I tried to contact them to set up my site they were never available. Their 24/7 support is a lie. They finally returned my call when I said "I want to cancel my account". Don't waste your money there.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

NON EXISTENCE CUSTOMER SUPPORT!   - Review by Keith  submitted on April 3, 2003
Overall Ratings: 5 out of 10

i
powerWeb is terrible, and there customer support is horrible. I tried calling them many times to find out information about them and finally just gave up.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

All problems FIXED.  - Review by Daren Crake submitted on April 3, 2003
Overall Ratings: 10 out of 10
I switched services from Catalog.com to Ipowerweb.  Ipowerweb is awesome comparatively.  Excellent features, good price, servers are always up, customer service is pretty good on emailing you.  Good luck on trying to talk to a real person though.  I  called them a couple of times only an answering machine.  My problems were resolved through email though.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

 

 

Great OFFER.  - Review by Mike submitted on April 3, 2003
Overall Ratings: 10 out of 10
They offer one excellent plan that includes 200mb web space, and a free domain name for just $7.95 a month. They also offer a huge amount of features that include: Free domain name, Autoresponder, SSL Secure Server, 150 POP E-Mail Accounts, Unlimited Forwarding, Unlimited transfer, FTP Access, and more. I didn't have any problems with this host and still use them.
Representative of iPowerWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.
Other Web Hosting Companies

Infinology | Lunarpages | Ipowerweb | Midphase | Jumpline | Your-Site | Powweb | Websitesource | Apollo Web Hosting | Easy CGI


http://www.ipowerweb.com

 

 

72%

 
Rating Out Of Ten
Performance 8
Reliability 7
Customer Relations 6
Features 7
Control Panel 9
     
 
     
Copyright 1999-2011 Upperhost Independent Business Web Hosting Reviews & quality comparisons. All rights are reserved.  
Let us help you find the perfect  web site hosting provider for your business or personal needs whether you need cheap or premium hosting